Jere Annis Winners


The Jere Annis Leadership Award was established in 1989 by the Leadership Alumni Association to honor the late Dr. Jere Annis, an organizer of the Leadership Lakeland Program, past president of the Lakeland Area Chamber of Commerce, and Chairman of Leadership Lakeland I and II. Dr. Annis, who died in 1989, was the founder of Watson Clinic.

Any member in good standing may nominate a current Alumnus for the Jere Annis Leadership Award.  Nominations are reviewed by past recipients of this award and select a winner who is announced at the Leadership Lakeland Annual Meeting.  The Leadership Lakeland Alumni Association gives $1000 annually to a local charity selected by the Jere Annis recipient.

The recipient of this award must meet the following criteria:

  • Graduated from the Leadership Lakeland Program
  • Contributed significant community service within the Lakeland area with an emphasis on government, civic, and social service.
  • Created a definite positive impact on the community
  • Involved in the community on a continuous basis.

Download the Jere Annis Nomination Form here!

Recipients by Year

1989John T. Cannon III
1990Hunt Berryman
1991Terry S. Wilson
1992T. Lynn Craven
1993Barney Barnett
1994Darlene Eanett
1995Ralph Weeks
1996Lyonal  B. Lindsey  Jr.
1997Carol Jenkins Barnett
1998John A. Attaway, Jr.
1999Frank O’Reilly
2000Ronald L. Clark
2001Ralph “Buddy” Fletcher
2002Alice O’Reilly
2003R. Howard Wiggs
2004Clayton Hollis
2005Anne Furr
2006Bill Mutz
2007Hollis Hooks
2008Nancy Cattarius
2009Jack Stephens
2010Edie Yates
2011Ed Crenshaw
2012John Rodda
2013Steve Bissonnette
2014Larry Durrence
2015Gene Strickland


Ihla Sloman

Frank Kendrick